Young Men's Shelter

This program offers young men aged 12 to 20 immediate access to safe housing. Open 365 days a year, the Young Men’s Shelter is always ready to welcome youth with nowhere else to turn. But the shelter is much more than a place to stay. Support is also available 24 hours a day. The shelter has 30 beds and offers both emergency shelter and transitional housing for up to a year.

Each participant discusses his unique situation with staff at the shelter, who work with him to identify his needs and connect him with the services he may need to achieve independence. Young men who lack family support are connected with youth workers who help them develop a full “community plan” and get the skills they need to live independently.

While participating in programs designed to help young men set goals and work towards them is encouraged, it is not necessary. All youth have the choice simply to have their basic living needs met, or to pursue opportunities to secure long-term housing and improve their lives.

The shelters also help young people remain healthy by offering information on sexual health and addictions, within a safe and non-judgmental environment.

Transitional housing can also be offered for stays of up to one year. These units give youth the opportunity to live semi-independently while they work towards their goals.

Take a tour

How to access the program

Young men in need of a place to stay can call the Young Men’s Shelter directly to inquire about availability. The shelter is centrally-located.

Coordinator: Jessica Albert
Phone: 613-907-8975

Abri pour jeunes hommes

Ce programme offre aux jeunes hommes âgés de 12 à 20 ans l’accès immédiat à un logement sécuritaire. Ouvert 365 jours par année, l’Abri pour jeunes hommes est toujours prêt à accueillir des jeunes qui n’ont pas d’autre issue. Cependant, l’Abri est beaucoup plus qu’un endroit où vivre. On y offre également du soutien jour ou nuit. L’Abri est doté de 30 lits et offre un abri d’urgence et un logement de transition pour une période pouvant atteindre un an.

Chaque participant discute de sa situation unique avec le personnel à l’Abri, qui travaille avec celui-ci dans le but de cerner ses besoins et de le jumeler aux services dont il peut avoir besoin pour atteindre l’autonomie. Les jeunes hommes qui ne jouissent pas d’un soutien familial sont jumelés à des travailleurs auprès des jeunes qui les aident à élaborer un plan communautaire et à acquérir les aptitudes dont ils ont besoin pour vivre de façon autonome.

Bien que la participation à des programmes conçus pour aider les jeunes hommes à établir des buts et à travailler à les atteindre soit encouragée, elle n’est pas nécessaire. Tous les jeunes ont le choix de simplement subvenir à leurs besoins fondamentaux ou de poursuivre des occasions de trouver un logement à long terme et d’améliorer leur vie.

Les abris aident également les jeunes à demeurer en santé au moyen de renseignements sur la santé sexuelle et la toxicomanie, dans un environnement sécuritaire et qui ne porte pas de jugement.

Le Programme de logement de transition pour jeunes hommes est aussi offert pour des séjours d’une durée maximale de un an. Ces unités donnent aux jeunes l’occasion de vivre de façon semi-autonome alors qu’ils travaillent à atteindre leurs buts.

Comment accéder au programme

Les jeunes hommes ayant besoin d’un endroit où vivre peuvent communiquer directement avec l’Abri pour jeunes hommes pour se renseigner sur la disponibilité d’une place. L’Abri est situé dans un endroit central.

Coordonnatrice : Jessica Albert
Téléphone : 613 907-8975
Courriel : youngmenshelter@ysb.on.ca

Prenez la visite virtuelle